Shiny Season

Shiny necklace
I appreciate shiny baubles as much as the next girl. However, this necklace is so much more than a stylish accessory. Rather, it’s a reminder of what is the most important with Christmas for me – the reminder of how grateful I am for my family and friends.

A few weeks ago, Mum and I took a weekend trip to Dublin. Walking through Temple Bar, we came across a stall where Courtney Designs was selling the most wonderful jewellery. Both Mum and I were immediately entranced. Mum asked me what I thought of the necklace pictured above. I assumed she was asking me my opinion on whether or not she should buy it. I thought it was gorgeous and would fit her well, and said so. She bought the necklace, and I thought no more of it.

Fast forward to Christmas Eve. I’m unwrapping a small present from Mum, and what do I find but a box containing the necklace! My thoughtful mother apparently intended for me to have it all along and I was truly touched – one of the many small Christmas moments that now shine in my memory.

About Jenny Graver

Living in Oslo, Norway, with her partner and their infant son, Jenny struggles for balance between all the things that makes life worth living - her family, her job in university administration, her writing, learning and her photography. View all posts by Jenny Graver

Leave a Reply

