Doors

God never closed one door but he opened another.

Picnik collage

Ever since my contract ran out and I didn’t get a new job at the same place, I have been reflecting a lot on this proverb. I have mentioned before that I am not religious, so I don’t believe in a higher purpose behind the fact that I couldn’t continue in my old job (however much I sometimes would love to believe so). That being said, the lack of religion does not make the proverb any less valid.

I do believe in my own strength and ability to make the best out of what comes.  I am learing more about myself for each day I continue to be unemployed, and I know that my new job, whatever it will be, will teach me something new about the world that I wouldn’t have learned in my old job. So while I regret it that the door to my old office is closed behind me, I will make the best of the path I am on now, and eagerly look forward to stepping through the new door I will come to.

 

About Jenny Graver

Living in Oslo, Norway, with her partner and their infant son, Jenny struggles for balance between all the things that makes life worth living - her family, her job in university administration, her writing, learning and her photography. View all posts by Jenny Graver

Leave a Reply

