Square

As opposed to the circle, the square, as a symbol, does not carry particularly positive connotations for me. It’s inflexible. Standard. Rule-bound. But really, the more I shoot square format images, the better I understand that the square is a forgiving and flexible format in photography.

For the last week or so, I’ve been shooting with my phone only and in square format. Looking at my images afterwards, I am unable to find any sort of pattern in my composition, anything my resulting images have in common. For the most part, all I have is a set of square images that work in square format in some sense, for different and sometimes undefined reasons.* Strangely, I find that for once I don’t mind it that there’s something I can’t explain and generalise over.

So I’m going to leave it with a selection of my recent square format images, and for once I will let the images speak for themselves, as a summary of the recent experiences in my life as well as my photographic development.

{154/365} Faces

Reflection

{157/365} More flowers!

{159/365} Key

{160/365} Ice crystals

Walking into the light

Stillness before the show

{161/365} Opera reflections

{162/365} Chandelier

Glimpses

———-
*See Kat’s Exploring with a Camera post on square format for an interesting summary of possible square compositions.

About Jenny Graver

Living in Oslo, Norway, with her partner and their infant son, Jenny struggles for balance between all the things that makes life worth living - her family, her job in university administration, her writing, learning and her photography. View all posts by Jenny Graver

6 responses to “Square

  • Jamie Solorio

    I think these are all wonderful! I love squares in photography and recently was reading a composition book and it said that squares are the least desirable to look at compared to a rectangle. Funny…since they are my favorite.

    • littlescribe

      Really?! That’s a funny attitude – I wouldn’t say that squares are my favourite, but I certainly find them an enjoyable form to compose in as well as very desirable to look at 🙂

  • Gina

    The square format can be a challenge…for me it seems to work only with certainly roundish forms, like flowers or bowls etc. I love your image of the city reflected in the window. The passageway photo is also very dramatic.

  • Kat

    I see a lot of diagonals in these images. I also see complex compositions – layers with the reflections, foreground and background. Square format may help bound what you are seeing, so that you can stop and figure them out. Lovely images. Square format really does work for all of these – I can’t decide which I like best! Thanks so much for participating in Exploring with a Camera.

Leave a Reply

