Instant learning

So, I have bought a new camera. And not any kind of camera either, but a proper vintage Polaroid 650. It is big and clunky, and a bit intimidating, and I love it to bits already.

I have entered into a whole new world. Suddenly – and disconcertingly – I have no clue about proper exposure settings (I have a whole of three to choose from here, which ought not to be a problem). Also, I’m using Impossible Project PX 680 First Flush film, which needs to be shielded from light for the first couple of seconds after emerging from the camera – easier said than done! It doesn’t help that the film is frightfully expensive.

That being said, I’m having so much fun! The unpredictability of it is fantastic, and watching the details of the image emerge is true magic, not least because it serves as an instant journey back to childhood and the memories of my late grandfather using a similar camera.

So far, I’ve used up five of the eight images on my first film. One was exposed to light when I stupidly removed the film canister after the darkslide was ejected – my camera is apparently a little slow on the trigger, so I wanted to check that the film was properly inserted. One image was ruined when I didn’t shield it properly. The three others appear to be more or less successfull.

This is the one I shot yesterday, and it’s obviously true that it takes a whole day for all the details to appear, because I was highly surprised to see how different this one looked this morning:
SCN_0024

I’m not too keen on the yellow light, some of the details are blown out, and the composition and subject leave much to be desired, seeing that this was only meant to be a test snapshot. I still treasure it as the first step on this wonderful journey into a new world of photography.

About Jenny Graver

Living in Oslo, Norway, with her partner and their infant son, Jenny struggles for balance between all the things that makes life worth living - her family, her job in university administration, her writing, learning and her photography. View all posts by Jenny Graver

One response to “Instant learning

Leave a Reply

