The divine

{75/365} PtH Day 13: Divine canvasA couple of days ago, the daily prompt for the e-class Picture the Holidays asked for an image of the divine. I am not religious myself, but the divine is certainly present in my life anyway. I ended up posting the image to the left, of a recent winter sunrise; the fact that dark gives way to light every day without fail is a natural miracle I will always appreciate.

We live right across the road from a church. Every Sunday morning we hear the church bells ring, to summon people to  church and to mark the end of the service. You might think that I would find it an annoyance, nothing but a noise without significance that prevents me from sleeping in on Sundays. Thankfully, that is not true.

In the same way, I am not upset or annoyed by the religious imagery related to Christmas. The birth of a child, the birth of a person with a potential to be absolutely anything – a great author, the one who finds a cure for cancer, my future children’s best friend – is another miracle, worthy of celebration, to remind me that there is something bigger out there, that the world is grand and beautiful and filled with sunrises.

So I treasure the church bells for their promise of the divine.

Bells

About Jenny Graver

Living in Oslo, Norway, with her partner and their infant son, Jenny struggles for balance between all the things that makes life worth living - her family, her job in university administration, her writing, learning and her photography. View all posts by Jenny Graver

8 responses to “The divine

Leave a comment